Chicken (100-word story)

Chicken (100-word story)

He belonged to the outcast trio in middle school: Ugly Sam, Farting Andy, and him, Lunatic Mike. Our class disliked them for they were odd and insensible. But I didn’t hate them, only I was too afraid that people would spurn and brand me silly names which everyone would remember for eternity. So I didn’t speak to them either, ever.

I dropped a coin which made his tin can quiver. He looked up and squinted the moment our eyes met. Before he could say a word, I flipped another coin and rushed to the car where my son was watching.

Leave a Reply

