Because Summer (Pt. 2)

I woke up first, around 5am or so. and why shouldn’t I wake up early when my back was really aching from the bench-turned-bed? Still, it was a wonderful sleep by the sea. We prepared breakfast early so we could hike early. The boatmen said that they would arrive around 11am to 12pm so we only had a few hours left for hike and last swimming sessions.

Image

I could wake up to this every day.

Image

Image

Image

Beer-granola bars-toothpaste. This photo is weird in many levels, no?

Image

 

Image

Then we headed straight to the hiking site, without any idea about the mountain we were yet to conquer. Conquer, naks! We only took our valuables then left the others inside the tents. I was a little worried about our things but Rhea and Con assured us that they’re being taken cared of by the locals.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Why its named such, I really don’t have an idea. But bira-bira is translated in colloquial Filipino as some move that’s not clearly thought of. Maybe because most of the campers climb the mountain spontaneously like what we did. Bira bira lang.

Image

The trails were very steep, especially the ones nearing the peak. Our feet were covered in terracotta dust in no time, but it was a good hike.

Image

Image

Image

Our album cover, with Jeff an arm akimbo.

Image

Kayak

Image

Gaara

Image

 

Image

Image

While hiking, we even met a bunch of UPLB alumni who we shared small talks with. They took this photo of us at the peak.

Image

As we descended, I realized that I am really a mountain person, that I love it more than I love the ocean. As we covered our faces and napes with scarves, I confirmed to myself that this was the highlight of my trip with friends. I could do this mountain climbing as a therapy, if only I had the proper gears and all.

Image

Afterwards, we had our final dip at the waters. And since we ran out of food for lunch, we feasted on everything that was left: a very large bar of Lindt chocolate, cashew, mangoes, singkamas, Nutella, peanut butter, bread, soft drinks, and the precious drinking water. Then we washed ourselves, in time for the arrival of the boatmen. They were late, though, so we had a few rounds for cards. Haha.

Image

We were able to leave Nagsasa Cove by 1:30pm, arrive to Olongapo at 4:30pm, and got back to Manila around 8:30 where Mark and Camille were waiting with our free dinner. Yeay! After dinner, Con gave out appliances which she doesn’t (and haven’t used) use anymore. J and I got free Teflon frying pan and a blender, Rhea got free coffee maker. I have awesome friends. I know.🙂

This weekend vacation was momentous for us, since it was our first out of town trip. Now we’re organizing another one before Mark leaves again for the States. Hopefully we get to schedule a trip somewhere in Aurora or Quezon or Batangas on August. That’s it for now. I hope you had a wonderful summer, too!

Leave a Reply

