My summer, a summary in a list

I was able to:
lecture high school students for college entrance reviews
purchase school stuff for my siblings
swim in the sea
write a short story
see the new Godzilla film
make pesto sauce from scratch
recite a poem on a birthday party
sleep in a hospital room
gobble too much lozenges
cook kare kare

I have read:
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
Beyond the Forest by Kelvin Hall
Will of the World by Stephen Greenblatt
Oranges are not the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson
A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers
Winter Journal by Paul Auster

I received:
a blender
a power bank
piaya and kwakoy

I got myself:
a very deep cut on my middle finger
a haircut
speakers for the laptop
a CIR PL camera filter
a flu
a cough
a new mug
an org pin
new shoes
a goldfish pet

I lost:
10 pounds
a Nike sports bottle
an authentic leather bookmark
a mug gift
a cellphone
my copy of The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
my copy of The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Facebook friends
a goldfish pet

I have gone to:
live in Tagaytay City for five days
a training in Sta Rosa, Laguna for five days
Los Banos, Laguna to jog
an overnight swimming in Pansol, Laguna
Santiago, Isabela to deliver a lecture
Cauayan, Isabela to visit a college friend
Roxas, Isabela to visit high school friends
San Manuel, Isabela to visit my family
camp at Nagsasa Cove, Zambales for two days
Manila Eco Park

I have been:
reading Atonement by Ian McEwan
running 5km still
taking photos
drinking weird fruitshake combinations
pre-writing two short stories
filling my piggy bank with coins and paper bills

I haven’t been:
eating rice since March
attending mass

2 thoughts on “My summer, a summary in a list

Leave a Reply

